Time Out! (A letter to church members everywhere)

I’m weary. I know some of you are, too. I’m weary from having conversations about the inadequacies of church. I’m tired from going into churches that say they have it all together, while I look at the congregation that so very clearly doesn’t. I’m exhausted from watching the backbiting and slandering. It’s frustrating, and agitating. It’s wrong.

This may just be the mom in me, but I want to call a time out. I know we all have differences of opinion. And those differences matter. (They really do matter!) But I think as culture moved so quickly around us, we all tried to keep up with the demands of reaching out to “the lost,” and we, ourselves, got lost.

We all went and did our own thing. The old kept their old ways. The new developed their new ways. The cool made their cool church. And the super spiritual sometimes made a not-so-cool church.

In each instance, we made it hard for the church to be the church: A place where people of all different backgrounds could come together to love and care, pray and encourage each other. A place where we could put aside our differences and worship God. A place where we could come and let Him speak, heal, restore, rejuvenate our weary souls as a body of believers. And then, because of that, then engage with one another — listen to each other — hear each other’s voices. When we hear each other, we become better equipped to be patient and understanding, reasonable and merciful with others outside of church. It makes us better at being who we’re meant to be.

I don’t care if you’re a house church or a mega church. If you don’t have this going on, you’re not doing church.

One thought on “Time Out! (A letter to church members everywhere)

  1. 1 Corintheans 1:10 “I appeal to you, brothers, by the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that all of you agree, and that there be no divisions among you, but that you be united in the same mind and the same judgment.”

    Perhaps Christianity needs a mom. Divisions seems to be human. And I’ve personally not found a single church that doesn’t suffer the ‘forgetfulness’ you (and Paul) appeal to.

    I’m going to agree,it’s been a couple of thousand years… time for a time-out.

Leave a Reply

