Waiting for Tomorrow

I’m not good at waiting. Are you?

For me, waiting is just plain painful. It’s the most excruciating thing for me to do. In my family, to ask someone to wait is actually an insult — that’s how much we hate waiting. And yet, I’m being asked to wait. Is God asking you to wait, too? Are you simply unable to control things that are happening in your life? Then read on.

See, part of the reason that I’m not a fan of the fact that God has asked me to wait is that I didn’t understand the purpose in it. For me, it’s some sick, cruel command.  But that’s because up until last night, I though waiting meant sitting still.

It doesn’t.

Last night, I was watching Mr. Magorium’s Wonder Emporium with my kids and a line in the movie allowed me to have an aha! moment. In a really tense scene, the main female character has set all the clocks in a store to strike noon at the same time. She says to Mr. Magorium,  “Now, we wait.” And he responds:

“No. We breathe. We pulse. We regenerate. Our hearts beat. Our minds create. Our souls ingest.”

Waiting isn’t about sitting still. It’s about tuning in to what’s ALREADY happening. It’s about getting a blessing by getting revelation. And it’s good for us. The bible tells us thatwhere there is no revelation, people cast off restraint; but blessed is the one who heeds wisdom’s instruction.” (Proverbs 29:18)

If you’re being asked to wait, it’s because there’s something that God wants to do in order to bless you. And in order for you to have the fullness of that blessing, you have to exercise restraint and get revelation. The restraint is designed to strengthen you — to grow you both as a person and in your relationship to Him. The revelation gives us reason to praise and allows us to pray against what Satan would like to try to do to steal, kill, and destroy that blessing.

And so, I find myself waiting, praying the words of Hebrews 10:36 (thanks JH).

“Patient endurance is what you need now, so that you will continue to do God’s will. Then you will receive ALL that He has promised.”

I pray it for myself. I pray it for the people who have to deal with me. And I pray it so that I can bring glory to my King. And I pray it for you too. May we be people who can have patient endurance, waiting for His will to intersect with our lives.

Love,

Pam

One thought on “Waiting for Tomorrow

  1. This means so much to me. In this season of waiting I have felt punished or disqualified from participating. God has been trying to break through to me to tell me that I am not the kid sitting in the dug-out never getting called to bat. That this season of waiting is, in fact, a portion of His blessing. Thank you for illustrating that beautiful concept so well 🙂

Leave a Reply

