Get a New View

I’m sold out to seeking, proclaiming, and living Truth, and encouraging others to do the same. Why? Because I believe that it is the key to life.

I believe that the starting point of seeking truth is authenticity. I really believe that God calls us to live authentic lives, honest lives, and that He asks us to live lives abandoned to the cause of truth, both in seeking Him and seeking what’s of Him. It’s where we are at our best. It’s a place where we communicate in true community with others: this is who I am, this is where I’m at.

So where do we find this place of truth? The temptation is to think that truth lies within us. It does not.

Let me ask you a question: When are you most likely to be dishonest with yourself or others? I would guess that for 99% of us, it’s when we are afraid. When the truth is bigger than us, when the truth might cause consequences,or the hardest yet, when truth is going to cause CHANGE. Because that’s what truth does…it’s transformational.

Well the good news is that the Good News is cheering us forward. John 14:16 says

“Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. You know the way to the place where I am going.” Thomas said to him, “Lord, we don’t know where you are going, so how can we know the way?

“Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”

Jesus assures His followers that we don’t have to be afraid because He is truth. But bigger than that: He is the one who calls to us to truth. Look at verse 1. Jesus says that there is a place prepared; and then in verse 3, he says he goes before us to prepare that place and that He, himself, walks us there.

We said before that we often don’t live authentic lives because we are scared. But Christ says that if we are walking the path of truth, He’s already going to be in that moment when you’ll need to call that thing out as a lie and seek truth. As I was reminded this weekend, He tells us in 1 Samuel 12:12 that as long as we live under Him, we’ll never meet a foe we can’t conquer.

Our job is to keep our eyes wide open, looking for Him and following Him. It’s time to tear down everything that would hinder us from doing that. It’s just not worth it.

But this song is. I’ve never advocated a purchase in my writing before. Not even when I worked in PR. This song is worth much more than the buck. And it’s challenging me to be even more honest.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002VW0RO4/ref=dm_mu_dp_trk10

Leave a Reply

