Keeping Fear at Bay

Fear can rule your life.

I feel like that statement needs to be said. Out loud.

Fear can rule your life. For some of you, fear is ruling your life.

When I was a kid, I was afraid of everything. I was afraid to ride my bike past four houses because my grandma told me that a man would come kidnap and rape me. I was afraid to cry because my dad told me that I was too much of a basket case (at 7). I was afraid to get a “C” on a test because I thought that it would go on my permanent record. These are just some  of the many examples of how fear was a method of absolute control. (A fear based control). And it stole from me. It killed part of me that I have yet to reclaim. It destroyed many significant relationships.

But God.

But God has restored the years the locusts have eaten, or in this case, the years that fear have eaten. Does that mean I’m not tempted to fear anymore? Heck no. Fear is incredible weapon in the kingdom of darkness. Satan, or more likely, one of his minions, come after me continuously, desiring to devour me. They will use any tactic — lately, the one of choice is doubt — to get me to give way to fear. They’re just waiting for me to crack. They know, better than most of us humans, that it only takes one agreement to usher in a flood of thoughts that will cloud judgment, mislead me, and render me useless. It’s why I grip so tightly to the words in 1 Timothy.

“For God did not give you a spirit of fear, but one of peace, of love, and of sound mind.”

I have a right to my sound mind. I have a right to choose to have faith in the One who is faithful. You have a right to your sound mind. You have a right to choose Jesus. To choose to lean on Him. To choose to trust Him. Every time.

Because when it comes down to it, Jesus was right. You can’t be slave to two masters. Not money. Not fear. I want to stand with authority and choose Jesus as my master every time. There’s simply no other way.

Leave a Reply

