This Old House

When I was a kid, I didn’t get too much time with my dad. He worked around the clock. When he was home, the poor man was so tired that he often just crashed in front of the TV. Ergo, if I wanted to spend time with my dad, I spend time watching his programs: dragster racing, Star Trek the Next Generation, and home improvement shows, especially this Old House.

These were the days before makeover editions, before the cute-clipsy scenes of decorators’ advice. And yet, even then, the idea of transformation enthralled me.

Yesterday, after listening to Sarah Groves’ new album, Fireflies and Songs, I realized that there has been a far more significant transformation in my life than I had previously thought. One of the songs really stood out to me. It’s called This House. In it, she sings about visiting the house she grew up in, and then, in an emotionally captivating moment, tells her daughter “Ruby, take it all in, see He’s withheld no good thing.” As tears streamed down my face, I not only recalled the house and community that I grew up in, but what He’s done for my body, this old house, this temple of His.

There’s moments where I’ll catch a whiff of something that was from my past or have to visit an old school, and the sense memory overwhelms me. It takes my breath and catches me off guard. It takes everything I have to process the pain of some of the hurts I experienced or of feeling my old insecurity flying back. But I, too, can turn to my daughters and with great tears in my eyes, say “see girls, He’s withheld no good thing from me.”

It’s one thing to read the words of 2 Corinthians 5:17 (Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new). It’s another to know that from the depth of your soul. To have failed, to have hurt, to have been hurt — and to have had the Lord of the Universe tenderly and loving put you back together. Somehow gratitude falls short of expressing my feelings.

I don’t have a link to Sarah’s song, but I’ve often felt this way reflecting on the first part of the song below.

Leave a Reply

