There’s no law against such things

I’ve been thinking a lot about limits lately. Probably none of my current friends know this, but for many years, I lived by the motto “Blind to Limitations.” My AOL screen name was byndlimits (beyond limits). I can tell you that the motto did not serve me well.

Now, I was not a rebellious kid. I wasn’t attracted to that phrase because I liked to have some sort of skater kid mentality. I used that line to strive for perfection. To be the best that I could be in athletics, work, friendships, and relationships. It still didn’t serve me well.

Just today, I realized why. I didn’t persist … I didn’t go beyond limits … out of a place of love or peace or sound mind. I went beyond limits in an attempt to prove myself. To earn my place. To fight insecurity. It’s not surprising that it was as addictive as crack and that it never quite paid off.

My revelation came from focusing on Galatians 5:22-23 (thanks, N.).

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law.—Galatians 5:22-23

The strange thing about this verse is that even thought my eyes were fully opened today, I have been submitting to this verse for about three years now. It’s a verse that hangs on my wall in my home. I first memorized it. Then started applying it. Then, realizing that I could not even attempt to do this on my own, prayed to God to bear fruit in these ways and to open my eyes, soften my heart. But when my friend called out this verse on her Facebook page 2 weeks ago, I was stunned because I had only memorized half the verse. I had stopped after self-control. But that last phrase is so essential.And it was so personal to me.

I CAN go beyond limitations WHEN I am persisting in love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. Neither the Kingdom of Darkness nor this world can hold me back because God has told me these are boundless areas to explore. I won’t get hurt. I won’t be bound.

There is no law against love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control. I love the freedom.

2 thoughts on “There’s no law against such things

  1. By focusing on the fruit of the Spirit, you ARE going beyond the limits — the limits set by Gal. 3:19-21. Those are all limited because none are unique, none are special, not take talent, discipline, hard work, study or prayer. Sin never does. It has been said there is nothing so unoriginal as sin. Therefore, you have entered into the realm beyond the limits of sin when you embrace the freedom and limitless fruit of the Spirit.

    Blessings,

    Jim

    • Jim,
      Thanks so much for reading and commenting. Your insight is so valuable and made me realize that I should clarify what I was saying. Thank you for giving me the opportunity.
      What I was trying to say is that to try to persist in ANY form of works will not serve well (i.e. will be sin and harm me, others, my relationship with the LORD or likely all three). I acknowledge and firmly stand that I can only be displaying love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self control WHEN I have yielded unto Christ’s pressing into my heart, producing those things in my life through the Holy Spirit, so they can be displayed to others. So my striving for peace, say, is not that I create peace, but that I seek the Holy Spirit and allow Him to direct where, when and how He would like to display peace. As John Wimber once said, I am merely the spare change in God’s pocket. He can spend me when, when and however He wants to.
      Peace,
      Pam

Leave a Reply

