Posture of Praise

Sometimes you just have to report what God’s doing.

Last night, I went to Outcry (P&W for all you Christian folk) at Trinity Christian College. Let me tell you. Those kids (and I use the term loosely) blew me away. There was such conviction for me.

Not only was the worship insanely good, but the students were ON FIRE for the Lord. Every song was treated as if they were at a rock concert of their favorite band. These kids were CELEBRATING Easter. Every time they spoke about Jesus’ victory, their were authentic whistles that rose up.

It made me think about when was the last time that I praised like that.

Don’t get me wrong. I connect with the Lord through worship. I mean, tears fall, my heart lifts — connected. But there was such selflessness in their praise. They weren’t seeking anything from the Lord. They just wanted to praise him. And they were able to, without distraction.

I realized that part of the reason that I’m not able to praise without my mind wandering was because I’m lacking in faith and patience. Although I’ve seen and done a lot with the Lord, my faith has diminished, and with it, my ability to seek His face, knowing that He will be faithful. I don’t know how or when it happened, but I knew, standing in that room, that those kids, those young adults, had it — and I didn’t. You want to talk about contagious faith? I felt it.

I was also convicted by Isiah 30:18 (NLT) yesterday:

So the Lord must wait for you to come to Him so He can show you His love and compassion. For the Lord is a faithful God. Blessed are those who wait for His help.

I can’t tell you what that verse means for you. And sharing what it means for me probably would not be helpful to anyone. But it’s an imporant verse to me, so maybe it will be an important one for you as well.

Here’s a taste of what last night was like for me:

Leave a Reply

