Who loves ya, baby?

People need some hope. I’m gonna give you some hope. Strike that. I’m going to relate stories to you of things I know God is doing to let God give you some hope.

One of my friends rents an apartment in an area where it’s been impossible to live with freedom to do what she’s been called to do. In summer, her husband asked her to move to a larger apartment, but one that was small, and dark, and one that she was very afraid of. When she prayed, she felt like God said it was going to be a place of blessing. There was no way this was a blessing in her mind. But oh, how God turned it into a blessing. After six months, she found out that there was an opening in the building to move into a condo upstairs that was huge and wonderful — and $100,000 less than what it should have been. The problem was that many people had tried to get in this space but there was problem after problem. Today, she put money down to own that space. God kept everyone else out because it was meant for her and her family.

Another friend of mine was forced to move over these past couple of months. Her husband’s job made a transfer and there was no way to say no. After meticulously looking for a place, they choose a beautiful home in another state. The very next day, their place went up on the market. It sold that day. In this economy. God had their back.

These are two big miracles. Stuff that just wouldn’t happen. Couldn’t happen. But the big things are not the things that inspire me. It’s the little ways. Let me tell you about the little miracle that happened to me today.

Today was a bad mom day. The moms reading this know what I mean, but let me tell the non-moms what this means. A bad mom day is when you are so stressed out that the muscles in your shoulders tighten to be as hard as the bones in your shoulders. At some point, you can’t sensor your words and you end up feeling like a bad mom. I’m not talking abuse; I’m just talking about a place where you feel like you’ve failed your children. I had this day, and then had to go shopping. Those who know how much I hate shopping get why this would be a set-up for me to be destroyed before I hit the bed this evening.

The reason I had to go shopping was because my best friend invited me to a $300 a plate ordeal for tomorrow night. I could never pay that, but a board member donated seats that has allowed me to go. I quickly realized after I had told her that I would go that I, like Cinderella, had nothing to wear. For three weeks now, I have put off shopping because one: I don’t have money to spend on clothes, and two: I was anxious about spending money on clothes.

Tonight was the last night I could go. So even though I had this really frustrating day, I had to head out and venture the awful mall. After scanning the racks, I found a dress that might as well have had my name on the label. It is so me. Black, A-Line, chiffon and silk,  princess cut diamond-like buttons, blouse dress. Classic, sharp, comfortable, and worthy of hiding my post-pregnancy hips. Even though it should have been a bit small, it fit like a glove. The price tag said $118.

But Jesus wanted to love me, so He made the price $4.99.

That’s right ladies, Jesus dressed me up for under five bucks. Why is this miraculous to me? Because Jesus knew my needs. He wanted me at the event, and He knew what I needed. He went before me. And, in the meantime, He also spoke love on me to let me feel like a girl again, which I so despretely needed. I got loved on by the God of the Universe. It’s amazing.

You can say it’s a coincidence, but when have you ever heard of a designer dress for under $10 in a major department store? When have you heard of a house selling in one day when there are tens of other houses on the market for much less? When have you ever heard of someone getting a house for more than $100, 000 less?

It’s the Lord, people, and He wants to love on us.  He wants to encourage us! Take it to heart.

Maybe you didn’t have something miraculous today. Maybe you’re in a painful place. Maybe you’re hurting. Invite Jesus into that. He’s faithful to transform. Always.

Read with me today, please.

1 Chronicles 16

8 Give thanks to the Lord and proclaim his greatness.
Let the whole world know what he has done.
9 Sing to him; yes, sing his praises.
Tell everyone about his wonderful deeds.
10 Exult in his holy name;
rejoice, you who worship the Lord.
11 Search for the Lord and for his strength;
continually seek him.
12 Remember the wonders he has performed,
his miracles, and the rulings he has given,
13 you children of his servant Israel,
you descendants of Jacob, his chosen ones.

23 Let the whole earth sing to the Lord!
Each day proclaim the good news that he saves.
24 Publish his glorious deeds among the nations.
Tell everyone about the amazing things he does.
25 Great is the Lord! He is most worthy of praise!
He is to be feared above all gods.
26 The gods of other nations are mere idols,
but the Lord made the heavens!
27 Honor and majesty surround him;
strength and joy fill his dwelling.

8 O nations of the world, recognize the Lord,
recognize that the Lord is glorious and strong.
29 Give to the Lord the glory he deserves!
Bring your offering and come into his presence.
Worship the Lord in all his holy splendor.
30 Let all the earth tremble before him.
The world stands firm and cannot be shaken.

31 Let the heavens be glad, and the earth rejoice!
Tell all the nations, “The Lord reigns!”
32 Let the sea and everything in it shout his praise!
Let the fields and their crops burst out with joy!
33 Let the trees of the forest rustle with praise,
for the Lord is coming to judge the earth.

34 Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good!
His faithful love endures forever.
35 Cry out, “Save us, O God of our salvation!
Gather and rescue us from among the nations,
so we can thank your holy name
and rejoice and praise you.”

36 Praise the Lord, the God of Israel,
who lives from everlasting to everlasting!

And all the people shouted “Amen!” and praised the Lord.

Leave a Reply

