Shifting

When I was a kid, I spent an enormous amount of hours sitting in front of my house with my grandfather in his mid 80s black Honda Civic. I would ask him over and over to explain the gears on the stick shift. I remember being fascinated with gears 3 and 5. Something about just being able to let go of the shifter and speed on ahead thrilled me.

“You mean I can take curves and everything without shifting?”

“Yep, just drive on ahead.”

Yesterday, the Lord shifted me. It’s done. So let me tell you where I’m at.

I’m in peace.

Surprise, surprise, when I wrote that submission and respect brought freedom, it really did for me. It freed me up to pray for what really needed prayer and to get hope and peace and move with what God was already doing.

So what is God doing? He’s encouraging His people. He’s giving vision to what He desires to take place.  He’s declaring from His heavenly throne words of health, healing, and restoration. He’s reviving dreams. He’s imparting new ones. He’s covering those He loves.

I’m praying Psalm34 this morning with everything I got:

1 [a] I will extol the LORD at all times;
his praise will always be on my lips.

2 My soul will boast in the LORD;
let the afflicted hear and rejoice.

3 Glorify the LORD with me;
let us exalt his name together.

4 I sought the LORD, and he answered me;
he delivered me from all my fears.

5 Those who look to him are radiant;
their faces are never covered with shame.

6 This poor man called, and the LORD heard him;
he saved him out of all his troubles.

7 The angel of the LORD encamps around those who fear him,
and he delivers them.

8 Taste and see that the LORD is good;
blessed is the man who takes refuge in him.

9 Fear the LORD, you his saints,
for those who fear him lack nothing.

10 The lions may grow weak and hungry,
but those who seek the LORD lack no good thing.

15 The eyes of the LORD are on the righteous
and his ears are attentive to their cry;

17 The righteous cry out, and the LORD hears them;
he delivers them from all their troubles.

18 The LORD is close to the brokenhearted
and saves those who are crushed in spirit.

19 A righteous man may have many troubles,
but the LORD delivers him from them all;

20 he protects all his bones,
not one of them will be broken.

22 The LORD redeems his servants;
no one will be condemned who takes refuge in him.

Be encouraged this morning of God’s everlasting faithfulness. It could just be heavenly.

could have just as easily put this one: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xx6ShZ22EhI lyrics here: http://www.lyricsmania.com/revolutionary_love_ne-mechanical_mix_lyrics_david_crowder_band.html

I can’t put Psalm 34:17 up without posting this song and singing this out either.

Leave a Reply

