Waiting in His presence

We’re used to NOT waiting. We’re used to looking at our clocks, waiting for the bus to arrive or for traffic to start moving, feeling righteous in our frustration. So, when God asks any of us to wait, and we have a spirit of acceptance, our natural next question is: “how?”

How do wait on God? For most of us who grew up in the church, we run to discipline. Fasting. Reading our bibles. Doing acts of service. For those of us who don’t have Christian guilt complexes, we run to prayer meetings, teachings, relationships, and more services. We know God will use his people, we know He’ll be faithful to the paths that He promises He’ll use, so eventually He’ll show up. We’re so predictable.

I’m convicted this morning by Psalm 16: 7-11.

7 I will praise the LORD, who counsels me;
even at night my heart instructs me.

8 I have set the LORD always before me.
Because he is at my right hand,
I will not be shaken.

9 Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices;
my body also will rest secure,

10 because you will not abandon me to the grave, [a]
nor will you let your Holy One [b] see decay.

11 You have made [c] known to me the path of life;
you will fill me with joy in your presence,
with eternal pleasures at your right hand.

I’m convicted that I do it all wrong. That I miss the mark. That I get caught up in the mechanics of otherwise valuable activities and practices and find myself out from underneath His wing. So much so that I miss communicating with God Himself. That I am so jittery, so anxious, so tense that I can’t wait because I can’t even sit, let alone sit still to read my bible or hear the preacher or listen to a friend.

But He’s not asking us to sit. He’s asking me to move. To go where He is. To seek Him out. To go to the place He’s already told us about. That might be to worship or church. It might be to a lake. It might be to a playground full of school children. Sometimes we just need to start walking and follow the desires He places on our heart. It may be crazy that you want ice cream in March in Chicago when you don’t even like ice cream. Go. He’s gonna use it.

He promises me that He will bring me joy when I get in the place He is now. The place that He has for me that day.

For most of us, that’s an exhausting thought. “Great, I have to do more.” Nope. Wrong. Check verse 7: the Lord counsels you and me (at all time), even at might my heart instructs me.He’s coaching us, even while we sleep. We just need to start moving. Leave the footprints in the snow. It doesn’t matter is Satan himself follows you. You’re going to God; He’ll provide the protection.

We can rejoice  in His presence. We can sit still WHEN WE GET TO HIM.

Leave a Reply

